Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Saturday elections held in Milford and Millsboro

Two towns, Milford and Millsboro, held elections on Saturday.

Two towns held elections over the weekend - in Milford and Millsboro.


In Milford, Mayor Arthur Campbell and 4th Ward councilwoman Katrina Wilson ran unopposed in Saturday’s election.

In the First Ward, Mike Boyle defeated Michael Spillane - 173 to 162 votes.  

In the Second Ward, Lisa Peel did not run for re-election. Instead, Andrew Fulton topped Joseph Wiley for that seat 119 votes to 110 votes.  

And in the Third Ward, long-time councilman Owen Brooks was ousted by newcomer Brian Baer by just seven votes (57-50).  

All councilmembers and the mayor will be sworn in at the Milford Council Meeting on Monday, June 22. 

Meantime, voters in Millsboro Saturday gave incumbent at-large Councilman Larry Gum another 3 year term.  Gum defeated challenger Denise Blake, 77 votes to 52 votes.  

Current Mayor Michelle Truitt and District 2 Councilman Ron O’Neal were unopposed.  

The Millsboro Town Council will hold a reorganization meeting in July, to name a mayor and new officers.


Kelli Steele has over 30 years of experience covering news in Delaware, Baltimore, Winchester, Virginia, Phoenix, Arizona and San Diego, California.