Delaware Public Media

New Sussex County councilmembers sworn in

Jan 10, 2019

There was a new look at this week’s Sussex County Council meeting.

Last November’s election winners took office Tuesday.

Doug Hudson of Dagsboro was sworn in as the new 4th District Council member during a ceremony in the County Council chambers.

Hudson replaces longtime member George Cole who retired last year.

John Rieley of Millsboro was also sworn in. He takes over the 5th District seat, replacing one-term member Rob Arlett.  Arlett did not seek re-election, choosing to run for U.S. Senate instead.

Row officers for Register of Wills, Recorder of Deeds and Sheriff were sworn in as well.

Mike Vincent was also voted Council president for another year.  Councilman I.G. Burton will serve as vice president.

The Council also approved re-appointing J. Everett Moore Jr. to be County Attorney.