Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

State Sen. McBride and DSU President Allen tapped for DNC Committee

The Democratic National Committee is welcoming five new Delawareans - who were nominated and approved during a virtual meeting on Saturday - to serve as at-large DNC members.

The new members include DSU President Dr. Tony Allen, Molly Magarik - the secretary of Delaware’s Department of  Health and Social Services, State Sen. Sarah McBride, Brian McGlinchey, who has served as Managing Director of Wilmington-based McCarter Government Solutions since 2015, and Bonnie Wu, who has has served as a regional director in the office of Sen. Tom Carper (D-DE) for 14 years. 

Delaware Democratic Party Chair Betsy Maron, who has served on the Executive Committee for the DNC since 2019, expressed her excitement for the new appointees after the vote was taken.

Maron noted that each person embodies a breadth of both local and national experience, making them exemplary choices for at-large committee members. 

All five nominees will now serve as at-large members, while Sen. McBride will also hold a seat on the Executive Committee.

Kelli Steele has over 30 years of experience covering news in Delaware, Baltimore, Winchester, Virginia, Phoenix, Arizona and San Diego, California.