Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

First State school board races marked by low turnout again

Delaware Public Media

Polls were open in school districts across the state Tuesday for school board elections, but not many showed up.

Turnout was low again.  12 contested races up and down the state only managed to draw a total of 8,644  voters and no race statewide reached 1,800 votes.

The highest turnout came in the Red Clay School District where 1,724 people voted as Jose Matthews defeated Joseph DeMichele for the only contested seat there. 

That was one of 6 New Castle County races in four districts.

In Brandywine School District - Shanika Perry defeated Renaldo Epps, while Fred Polaski and Keeley Powell won seats in the Christina School District. Polaski is the current Christina board vice president.

In the Colonial School District, contested races were won by Robin Crossan and Ronnie Williams.

In Kent County, there were three contested races.

In Caesar Rodney School District, P. Scott Wilson won a four-way race for an at-large seat there, edging William Victory Sr. by 15 votes

John Moyer III won the at-large seat up for grabs in the Lake Forest School District.

And Kristi Lloyd was the winner of a at-large seat in the Smyrna School District.

In Sussex County, one of the three-contested races saw only 122 people vote.

That was in the Indian River School District race between Derek Cathell and Carla Ziegler.  Cathell won with 95 votes to Ziegler’s 27.

Leolga Wright won the other Indian River race.

And in the Woodbridge School District, Jeffery Allen won an at-large seat.

Delaware School Board Election Results by Delaware Public Media on Scribd

Tom Byrne has been a fixture covering news in Delaware for nearly three decades. He joined Delaware Public Media in 2010 as our first news director and has guided the news team ever since. When he's not covering the news, he can be found reading history or pursuing his love of all things athletic.
Related Content