Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Slam Dunk to the Beach unveils 2019 tournament teams

The Slam Dunk at that Beach high school basketball tournament returns to Cape Henlopen High School in Lewes this year.


And again it boasts a line-up of state and national powers coming to the First State.

The three-day post-Christmas tourney runs from Friday, December 27 through Sunday, December 29.

Three First State high schools are invited, including Sanford and Dover. Those two met in last season's boys’ state championship game, with Sanford coming out on top. Tourney host Cape Henlopen is also participating.

This year's tournament also feature two players ranked in the top 20 of their class by ESPN. A.J. Griffin is the 10th ranked junior in the nation, and Jeremy Roach is the 15th ranked senior.  Both players have committed to Duke. 

The tournament has featured more than 60 players who have gone on to play in the NBA.


This is the tournament’s sixth year since being revived in 2014 by the   nonprofit Delaware Sports Commission. It initially ran from 1990 until 2003, but was folded by tournament founder Bobby Jacobs. He said it was because of health issues, but it was later revealed Jacobs mishandled tournament finances. He served eight months in prison.