Delaware Public Media

Jury selection set to begin for second Vaughn prison riot trial

Jan 5, 2019

The next trial of inmates allegedly involved in the 2017 Vaughn prison riot gets underway Monday.

Jury selection in the second of the four scheduled trials is slated to begin at 10 a.m. in Wilmington.

This trial will have four defendants – Obadiah Miller, John Bramble, Kevin Berry and Abednego (ah-bed-neg-oh) Baynes.  All four are charged with the murder of Correctional Officer Lt. Steven Floyd, as well as assault, kidnapping, riot and conspiracy.

The first trial lasted four weeks and ended in November with only one of three defendants, Dwayne Staats, being found guilty of murder.  Another, Deric Forney, was found not guilty on all charges.

Barring any delays in jury selection, opening arguments in the case are expected to begin next Monday, January 14th.