Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Delaware Headlines

Office of Highway Safety leads state's "Child Passenger Safety Week" efforts

Delaware Office of Highway Safety Facebook page

It’s Child Passenger Safety Week, and the state’s Office of Highway Safety (OHS) is taking steps to help people keep kids when riding in a motor vehicle.


Child Passenger Safety Week is a collaboration between the Highway Safety Office, local law enforcement agencies, the DMV and the nonprofit Safe Kids.

“This is actually the 10th year anniversary of CPS Week being in September. And basically during the week, we are promoting kids being secured in the right car seat for their age, height and weight,” said Highway Safety Office public information officer Cindy Cavett.


She notes that part of the goal is making sure parents have the right information.


“With the regulations that come out in terms of car seats and booster seats and whether or not kids should be forward-facing or rear-facing, we are trying to encourage parents and/or caregivers to make sure that they know the latest updates and what they should be doing with their child," Cavett said.

Cavett says Delaware law requires all children be properly restrained in a federally approved child safety seat appropriate for their age, weight and height - up to 8 years of age or 65 lbs -- whichever comes first.

Children 8 through 15-years-old must be properly secured with a seatbelt. And kids under 12  or 65-inches in height are required to sit in the back seat if there are active airbags in the front passenger seat.

The fine for violating the law is $25 - plus court costs.


The Highway Safety Office holds its annual "Seat Check Saturday" event this Saturday, September 21, 2019 at the Milford Walmart between 10 a.m. and noon.  

It also offers free child safety inspections year round at its three fitting stations. Those inspections are by appointment. At the Kent County or Sussex County DMV, you can make an appointment by calling (302) 744-2749 and at the Wilmington DMV, call (302) 434-3234.