Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Little League softball teams get ready to play the World Series in Delaware

Little League World Series

The Little League World Series will kick off this Sunday in downstate Delaware.

Twenty teams across the country will be playing this year. In the Big League division, local softball fans will watch the Delaware District 1 team defend their Championship title. International teams returning to the World series include the District 1 team from San Juan, Puerto Rico and the Lombardia Little League from Milan, Italy. Sussex County District 3 provides the host team for both World Series.

The ASOFEM Little League team from Maunabo, Puerto Rico, a two-time World Champion, will return to play in the Senior League. Joining them will be teams from British Columbia, Prague and the Philippines. The Prague team is the first Czech Republic team to play in the Little League Softball World Series.

Roy Lamberton, a spokesperson for the 2015 Little League Softball World Series, said that the players deserve all the support they can get.


“These young ladies have given up the best part of the summer to make it here. They started back in May and a lot of them practiced before that. So what people get to see are kids who are playing it for the pure love of the game," said Lamberton.

The games will begin at Sunday, August 2nd at 3p.m. at the Lower Sussex Little League Complex in Roxana. The Senior League Championship game will take place the following Saturday, August 8th at 2p.m. And the Big League Championship game will take place at noon on Sunday, August 9th.

There is no charge for entry to watch the games. Both Championship games, along with the 4 semi-finals will broadcast on ESPN.