Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Final votes of the 2020 election are cast Tuesday

Delaware Public Media

Delawareans who haven't already voted already by mail in the First State head to the polls Tuesday for the 2020 General Election.

In addition to the presidential contest, Delawareans will decide five statewide races.

Gov. John Carney and Lt. Governor Bethany Hall-Long each seek a second term against Republican challengers Julianne Murray and Donyale Hall.

Two of the state’s three seats in Congress are also on the ballot as incumbent Sen. Chris Coons faces Republican Lauren Witzke and Congresswoman Lisa Blunt Rochester seeks a third term against Republican Lee Murphy.

And incumbent State Insurance Commissioner Trinidad Navarro faces Republican Dr. Julia Pillsbury

Down ballot, Democrats attempt to bolster their majorities in the State House and State Senate by unseating a handful of Republicans in districts where Democrats hold registration advantages.


In the State Senate those races include the 5th District where Democratic challenger Kyle Evans Gay faces incumbent Republican Cathy Cloutier and the 7th District, where Republican incumbent Anthony Delcollo  is pitted against Democrat Spiros Mantzavinos.

In the House, the 9th District finds Republican State Rep. Kevin Hensley trying to fend off Democrat Debbie Harrington, while the 21st District features a rematch between Republican State Rep. Mike Ramone and Democrat Stephanie Barry.  Ramone beat Barry two years ago by just over 400 votes.

Polls are open from 7am until 8pm.  And Delaware Public Media’s live coverage of the results begins at 8pm when the polls close.

Tom Byrne has been a fixture covering news in Delaware for three decades. He joined Delaware Public Media in 2010 as our first news director and has guided the news team ever since. When he's not covering the news, he can be found reading history or pursuing his love of all things athletic.