Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Primary results send a handful of state lawmakers packing

Tom Byrne
Delaware Public Media

Changes are coming to the Delaware General Assembly based on Tuesday’ sprimary results.

Four Democratic incumbents, including the top Democrat in the State Senate, were defeated by Progressive challengers.

State Senate President Pro Temp David McBride fell short in his bid for re-election, losing to Marie Pinckney by 282 votes in the 13th Senate District Democratic primary.

In the 26th House District, Madinah Wilson-Anton edged incumbent John Viola by 43 votes.

In the 7th House District, Larry Lambery won his rematch with incumbent Ray Seigfried.

And in 27th House Distict, Eric Morrison easily defeated incumbent Earl Jacques with 61 percent of the vote.

In the 8th House District, where Quinn Johnson decided not to run again,  Sherae'a Moore won a three-way Democratic primary and will face Republican Daniel Zitofsky in November as Democats attempt to hold that seat.

And Kyle Evans Gay won the three-way Democratic primary in the 5th Senate District.  She seeks to unseat Republican incumbent Cathy Cloutier in the general election.


Tom Byrne has been a fixture covering news in Delaware for three decades. He joined Delaware Public Media in 2010 as our first news director and has guided the news team ever since. When he's not covering the news, he can be found reading history or pursuing his love of all things athletic.