Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

GOP re-elects leadership across the board

Delaware Public Media

Familiar faces will fill Republican leadership posts in the General Assembly come January.

The minority parties in both the House and Senate re-elected their leaders this week.


Seaford Rep. Danny Short and Rep. Deborah Hudson from Fairthorne were elected as House caucus’s leader and whip respectively.


Senate Minority Leader Gary Simpson (R-Milford) and Minority Whip Greg Lavelle (R-Sharpley) will also retain their titles.


Earlier this week, Democrats re-elected House Speaker Pete Schwartzkopf (D-Rehoboth Beach), Majority Leader Valerie Longhurst (D-Bear) and Whip John Viola (D-Newark) to their positions.


Senate officials say it’s likely they’ll elect a new President Pro Tem before Thanksgiving, after incoming Sen. Anthony Delcollo (R-Marshallton) ousted Patricia Blevins.