Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Turnout remains low for school board elections in First State

Delaware Public Media

Yesterday was school board election day across the First State.

11 school districts statewide had at least one contested race, but no race managed to draw over 2,300 voters.

The closest race in the state was in New Castle County where Norm Abrams won a 5-way race in the Appoquinimink School District, retaining his seat by a narrow two-vote margin over Leland Kent.

In Brandywine School District, Debbi Zarek retained her school board seat.

John Young lost his Christina school board seat, defeated by Katie Hegedus, though Hegedus has indicated she will decline to serve due to significant, unexpected family health issues.  According to Christina’s Board rules, the board will accept applications for the seat and appoint a replacement from that group.

In Colonial, contested races were won by Robin Crossan and Rosemary Wolfe.

In Sussex County, three contested races in the Cape Henlopen School District were won by Bill Collick, Janet Maull-Martin and Alison Myers.  Turnout there was the highest in state – with around 2,200 votes cast in each race.

In the Indian River School District, Donald Hattier won the District 4 seat while between Derek Cathell and W. Scott Collins retained their 5th District sets. Neither race saw more than 300 votes cast.

In the Delmar School District, William Mills ousted Jason Coco from his board seat.  And Dara Savage won the race for an open seat in the Seaford School District.

In Kent County, there were three contested races, and none of them managed to draw even 1,000 voters.

Joyce Dennman won a three-way race for a seat on the Caesar Rodney School District board.

In the Capital School District, Board President John C Martin retained his seat.

And Sarah Starkey was the winner of an at-large seat in the Lake Forest School District.