Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Turnout low as voters fill school board seats in Delaware

Delaware Public Media

Voting to fill open school board seats around the First State drew small numbers to the ballot box for the few contested races.

Elizabeth Paige won the lone contested seat in New Castle County, retaining her spot on the Christina School District Board by just 21 votes.  Paige defeated Desiree Brady 429-428.

Seats in Appoquinimink, Brandywine, Colonial and Red Clay School districts will be filled by candidates running unopposed.

In Kent County, Chanda Jackson took a three-way race in the Capital School District by a mere 7 votes.  Jackson garnered 190 votes to 183 for Andres Ortiz and 119 for Kevin Ohlandt.

In the Caesar Rodney and Lake Forest school districts, Michael Marasco and Earle Dempsey easily won at-large seats.

In Sussex County, Janis Hanwell and Jessica Tyndall won the two contested races in the Cape Henlopen School District. 

Delmar voters chose Farrah Morelli for an at-large seat there.  Shane McCarty won a spot on Laurel board.

Kimberly Hopkins and John Barr won the open seats in the Seaford and Woodbridge.

All seats come with five-year terms.

Turnout was low.  No race reached 1,700 total votes and some had fewer than 300.

Tom Byrne has been a fixture covering news in Delaware for nearly three decades. He joined Delaware Public Media in 2010 as our first news director and has guided the news team ever since. When he's not covering the news, he can be found reading history or pursuing his love of all things athletic.