Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Kent and Sussex County schools closing again Tuesday in wake of snowstorm

Delaware Public Media

Kent and Sussex County took the brunt of Monday’s winter storm – and schools there are being affected again as they clean up.

In Sussex County - Cape Henlopen, Delmar, Indian River, Laurel, Seaford, Sussex Tech and Woodbridge Districts are closed Tuesday.

In central Delaware – Caesar Rodney, Capital, Lake Forest, Milford and Polytech School Districts are closed Tuesday.

Smyrna School District is moving to virtual learning Tuesday, with school buildings and offices closed.

And in southern New Castle County, Appoquinimink School District is also turning to virtual learning Tuesday, using an asynchronous format.

The State of Delaware is opening its offices in Kent and Sussex Counties late Tuesday. They will open at 10 a.m. State judicial offices in Kent and Sussex will also open at 10 a.m.

Sussex County, Kent County and City of Dover offices will be closed again Tuesday.

And DART's morning schedule has changed Tuesday due to ice-covered roads in Kent and Sussex Counties. Information on this changes can be found at DART's website.

And one other school-related note, some schools in the Christina School District are moving to synchronous virtual learning due to operational concerns related to COVID-19 absences. The list of schools can be found at the district’s website.

Tom Byrne has been a fixture covering news in Delaware for three decades. He joined Delaware Public Media in 2010 as our first news director and has guided the news team ever since. When he's not covering the news, he can be found reading history or pursuing his love of all things athletic.