Delaware Public Media

Newark Mayor and City Council elections Tuesday

Apr 8, 2019

Voters in Newark head to the polls Tuesday to elect a new Mayor and a pair of City Council members.


Mayoral candidates include longtime City Councilman George "Jerry" Clifton, Aerospace Engineer Brandon Farzad, University of Delaware student Kasai Guthrie and political newcomer Catherine Ciferni.


The current Mayor Polly Sierer is not seeking a third term.


There are also contested City Council races in Districts 1 and 2.


In District 1,  James Horning faces Mark Morehead, and in District 2, Sharon Hughes faces Maria Ruckle. Incumbent Chris Hamilton is running unopposed in District 4.


Polls open at 7:00 am and close tonight at 8:00. Polling locations are listed at